Unable to build LunarG Vulkan Samples

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Pixel Music
    Participant

Hi,
      I am pretty new to programming IDEs in Mac,
      Trying to setup Vulkan demos..

facing below build issue :-
      —————————-
      Molten-0.13.0/MoltenVK/Demos/LunarG-VulkanSamples/API-Samples/macOS/DemoViewController.mm:16:9: ‘QuartzCore/CAMetalLayer.h’ file not found

Details :–
      ————-
      OSX Version : 10.11.6 (15G31)
      MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2014)

Bill Hollings
      Keymaster

@pixel-music

Starting with a clean Molten 0.13.0 download, and following the instructions, we are not able to replicate this here with either Xcode 7.3.1 (7D1014) or Xcode 8.0 beta 6 (8S201h).

It should not matter, but what version of Xcode are you using? And did you change the Xcode project in any way prior to attempting to build the demo?

…Bill

bsder
        Participant

You are likely accidentally building the iOS versions of the product for the simulator, and the simulator does not support Metal.

You either have to build and deploy on actual hardware, or build and deploy for your desktop mac.

bsder
          Participant

Okay, I’m clearly missing something about the framework build. I’m seeing the same issues from the command line.

I use this to compile:
            c++ -std=c++14 -I/Users/andrewl/MoltenVK/Molten-0.13.0/MoltenVK/include -o VulkanTest main.cpp -framework Cocoa -F/Users/andrewl/moltenvk/Molten-0.13.0/MoltenVK/macOS -framework MoltenVK -framework Metal

This program:

#include <iostream>

#include <vulkan/vulkan.h>

int main() {
                uint32_t extensionCount = 0;
                vkEnumerateInstanceExtensionProperties(nullptr, &extensionCount, nullptr);

std::cout << extensionCount << " extensions supported" << std::endl;
            }

And I get this error:

Undefined symbols for architecture x86_64:
              "_OBJC_CLASS_$_CAMetalLayer", referenced from: